Just Like Heaven

Okay, it is uber late, and I am really tired, but we just got back and I wanted to share my quick reaction.

WOW!

For those of you who may not know this about me, I am a HUGE Cure fan.  (In fact, when I was DJ’ing regularly we did all Cure sets about once a month.)  But much to my chagrin, I have never ever seen them perform live in concert.   Long story as to why, but life happens sometimes.

Well unfortunately tonight Robert Smith was having vocal cord issues, and he apologized for not being able to “fucking sing”.   He had a limited range, and at times was hard to hear over the music, but STILL it was mother effin ROBERT SMITH on the stage singing the songs.   As Jell said, OMG he looks just like he always has – only fatter!  (Which I have to say was actually a true statement, zOMG it was ROBERT fuckin SMITH!!)

ROBERT fuckin SMITH said that he was feeling romantic tonight, so the set list featured all the best in love songs the Cure could offer, which made the dancing with Jell in front of our seats all the more special.  Although she did have to come sprinting back from using the restroom, as she heard the actual “Lovesong” being played.  

I will forgive ROBERT fuckin SMITH for his vocal cord issues, given that I can fully appreciate the fact that he was still trying to give it his all, even to the point that he couldn’t even speak out loud for the final thank you anymore without his voice breaking.   I do have a major issue with the fact that they never once played A Forest though, that is one song I really wanted to hear.   But overall the set list was awesome!   Amazing how they can blend the slower depressing stuff right into the set, and then crank it back up.   You can tell they really planned out the order for maximum effect.   Great blend of new and older stuff.   Hey they still played for OVER 3 hours, even with his voice giving him fits!

I can’t wait til they come back, and we can appreciate his full range!   You gotta know that we are gonna be there!!   Hella yeah!

Leave a Reply

