Plurk killed the blogging star!

I think plurk is killing the blogosphere as more and more bloggers are migrating over. What the hell is plurk you ask? Plurk is the new and improved Twitter type application that lets people stay in contact across the timeline of their day. You accumulate Karma by attracting friends, plurking in short bursts of 140 character thoughts, and then having people respond to your amazing thought provoking topic such as: “Should I eat corn chex or frosted flakes for breakfast?”

Plurk provides some really cool advantages in that it allows you to keep in touch with friends you have who are outside of your time zone. Also if your job doesn’t allow you access to a computer during the day like myself, then you can still see what the hot topics were for the day amongst your friends and throw all your thoughts on the topic out at the end of the day in one fell swoop. It is an improvement over twitter in that you can easily follow threads of conversation, and quickly weed out those that are of little or no interest to you. I have found it to be a great way to get back in touch with many of my SL friends, as so many of us are spending less time in SL and more in other pursuits such as WoW or LOTR. Another cool feature is the ability to stream content from YouTube, flickr, and other platforms as part of the thread to share funny, amusing, or heart wrenching content in an easy to view format.

Plurk however is not without it’s abusers as well. Do you really care to read every action somebody is making, or is it just a ploy to keep the individuals karma up? I find that I tend to fall into a trap at times of just saying “Hi, I’m here”, and “Bye, I’m leaving or going to bed.” So far I have resisted weeding down my friends list, but I think that a few will be getting removed at some point soon, just because I find myself kinda bored sifting through their updates. Public displays of affection are great, but if that is more than 50% of your plurks then the reading populace is gonna get bored with it, and probably a lil annoyed. There are other social climbers out there just trying to gather attention for themselves by building a huge friends list, and getting their lil boost of ego each day. I am beginning to train myself to focus on getting quality content, and who cares about the karma aspect. Plurk and work don’t go hand in hand anyways.

My biggest complaint about plurk though is that I find myself a lot more tempted to turn a witty observation on the day into a 140 character plurk, and I am avoiding taking the time to actually sit down and develop the idea into a blog post. It is right there, easy to do, and you get immediate feedback from other users who are monitoring their timelines. Everybody is different, but for me a blog post is work. I enjoy doing it, but it takes me a while to actually sit down and write one. Plurk on the other hand is easy, and I get more comments via plurk than I do via blog post. I have covered before how I enjoy getting feedback on my posts, even if it is from the religious right crackheads. Therefore, in my case at least I really think Plurk is reducing the number of blogs I write, because I am already communicating my thoughts with my readers through Plurk. It is sort of the low-calorie blogging alternative.

11 Responses to “Plurk killed the blogging star!”

  1. Plurk is a vast improvement on Twitter, I like it a thousand times better.

    I agree with most of what you’re saying, though so far I have not turned blog posts into plurks instead. But I kinda like linking to my blog posts, as I tend to get replies to my plurks that I might not get as comments on my post.

  2. nikadreamscape Says:

    I think its interesting that you feel like plurk is killing the blogosphere. While I can see your point about how some people probably will post short thoughts on plurk instead of writing out a blog post, its had the opposite effect on me. My plurk posts are often akin to ‘brainstorming’. My bursts of random thoughts quite often have stimulated me to write in my neglected blog, like my most recent post about store designs. It was from griping on plurk that I got the idea to write that.

    Maybe I’m in the minority. But plurk has had a postive effect on my motivation to blog. As for all those good morning/goodnight posts, I like them. I consider the people on my list to be my friends, and I feel like I get to interact with people far more BECAUSE of plurk, where as in SL, I can be a bit of a hermit and rarely go and hang out with people.

    Maybe I’ll do a blog post on my thoughts with this soon, myself.

  3. jellybeanmadison Says:

    good post babe ❤

  4. Well done, great post.

    I think Plurk is great for the socializing. I have friends in plurk who have never talked to me in SL.

    I have seen a reduced number of blog posts because of it, but I guess plurk is billed as a “microblogging” tool in some circles.

  5. I think Frosted Flakes makes a far superior breakfast to Corn Chex. Just my two cents. I think I’ll go plurk that bit of inspiration before delving into an awe inspiring blog diatribe on the benefits of fortified cereal products for their convenience and nutritional superiority. Thanks Hawks – now I know what to do with the rest of my Sunday night! 🙂 <3<3<3

  6. I view Plurk as completely separate from my blog – I don’t even Plurk the URL of new blog posts. Plurk is just social chit-chat and my blog is more about what I’m doing or thinking about. Having said that, I always gloss over the good morning/good night Plurks because by the time I read them, it’s too late to wish the person good morning or good night… and if I were to reply to all of them, I’d be here all day!

  7. I don’t see Plurk as a competition to blogosphere. Actually, it helps me blogging. It is good to stay in touch with the readers and potential readers, it shows me what’s people thinking about, it’s good for quick surveys (though those give partial results), it is a good promotion tool… Yes, it cuts down the overall number of blog posts, but that’s good. If something can be said in 140 characters (or three times that, by continuing the “post” in the comments) then it shouldn’t be a blog post.

    it’s a different medium and everything has it’s own place. It just takes one to learn what should be plurked and what should be blogged. And, of course, to learn how to avoid endless staying on site.

  8. I’ll fully admit that my blog has taken a bit of a nosedive since joining Plurk. Of course…since I’m still one of the few bloggers who blogs everyday, I guess going from 20 posts to 1 or 2 in one day isn’t really a big deal.

    So uh…yeah, nevermind.

  9. Good post, Hawks!
    I think everybody is still looking for the best use of Plurk. As I’ve already plurked, I’ve noticed an improvement lately: less sharing of coffee and tea through plurk, and more sharing of thoughts, blogposts, weblinks, etcetera. And I think that’s the real power of the medium.
    Personally I love to use it to ask people’s opinion about issues I’m dealing with (often with a blogpost in mind) or simply for RL or SL advice. The only thing that keeps me from blogging since I’m in plurk is the time that it’s consuming! 😉

  10. Ooooh, I like the sound of using this “Plurk” thing as an excuse for lack of blogging – I think I’ll have to adopt that excuse. Now, if only I used Plurk….

  11. Nice, tip. Most strongly urge all users to NOT invite their friends by using the “Find Your Friends in Plurk via Email”. Note that Plurk is asking for yoru Email address and Password to your Yahoo, AOl, or MSN account.

    If you don’t see something wrong with providing your email address and password to a third party web site… well i hope i am not in your address book!

Leave a Reply

