Missed Calling?

I really think that after spending the last two days watching all variety of street performers at the Lawrence Buskerfest – from jugglers to firebreathers, from people who can catch a bowling ball on their cheek to magicians, from people who can play 12 instruments and sing at the same time to guys who can swallow swords, that I really wasted a good portion of my life doing the “right thing.” I was killing time getting a couple of degrees in college, and working on getting ahead in the rat race when I totally should have been practicing every day to learn some skill that no one else in the world would think of even trying, let alone being able to accomplish without months of hard practice.

I really have to respect these individuals who said to hell with conventional thinking, I am going to get together with my buddy and put together an act whereby I will juggle machetes while standing on my friends abdomen while he does a gymnastic back bend. These people don’t make a lot of money, but they live each day to the fullest doing exactly what makes them happy. They aren’t trapped by bureaucracy, budgets, or living life in a gray cubicled maze. Instead, they are out there putting on a show anywhere that people will gather to watch.

It takes more than just an unusual talent, but an ability to engage the audience. You have to draw them in with your pithy one-liners and ability to pick interactive kids out of the audience. You have to joke, cajole, heckle, and go with the flow. I would like to just take a moment and say thank you to those out there who have made it their life calling to buck the system, and to truly live each day to the fullest. I will try to take your example, and look for something outstanding that I too can do each and every day. I will engage the audience, and remember that you gotta have fun.

3 Responses to “Missed Calling?”

  1. Thanks for addressing this! Someone once said, “If you really want to be successful in life, identify what you love doing, and find a way to get paid to do it.”
    This is when your vocation becomes a vacation…

  2. jellybeanmadison Says:

    The best thing I heard all weekend was: “Enjoy the day! There’s a reason we get them one at a time”

    Everyone really should learn to ENJOY THE DAY!

  3. You should have gone to a Sudbury School…

Leave a Reply

