Who needs a Llama, when you can have a COW!?!

I’m the first to admit that drama entertains me like nothing else. Especially SL and more recently Plurk drama. Ya’ll know this already, right? Yah, I have the shirt. (see pic below). Well I have to admit I get a tickle when I start a fire that wasn’t intentional and I watch it go ablaze! Oopsie!

Let me share this plurk with ya…

JellyBean has decided that the only two normal guys in sl are HawksRock & Burgess. **shakes her head** This is sad.

The back story to this of course wasn’t added and that’s what mayhapsibly caused the ruckus. Let me explain before I go further so mayhaps you can find humor like I did.

As you know Hawks and I have sorta abandoned Free State to work on other projects like WoW leveling, Real Life, Ludo concerts, work, cuddle-fests, and of course the new blog – The SL Revolution. The Rev currently has 9 boomtastic revolutionary bloggers of truth, justice and the SL-way. However we’re lacking some testosterone over there something fierce.

I’ve kinda made it my mission to find male bloggers. Sadly I sort of have a strict criteria… I want male avatars that do not wear make-up, fem clothes, does not have a fem alt that gets more play time than their male, doesn’t know what color to wear that brings out their eyes, knows not to mix patterns and prints, and only blogs fashion. Not at any time, ever did I say that you shouldn’t live SL the way you want to, play it the way you want to or try to dictate anyone’s SLife.

Basically I really want to find what I would define as a RL stereotypical male but in SL that can write eloquently and wear a shirt, any shirt, and possibly shoes. Hey I like a challenge.

Hawks & I were discussing a potential new male writer when it donned on me that Alex and Hawks are the only two male bloggers I know that fit my manly man criteria. Alex is too busy to join the Rev and Hawks is already there. So in making the above statement in plurk by using the word “normal” started a bit of a spark that led to flames that led to this post.

Here’s the rest of the thread that followed:

  • November 17, 2008 at 18:49 KDFrawg There must be more than that!
  • November 17, 2008 at 18:49 myg says Wow if you include Burgess, that *is* sad!
  • November 17, 2008 at 18:50 JellyBean says no KDFrawg. Either they play fem avatars, they’re gay or very uhh metro sexual. Where are the Paul Bunyan manly men?
  • November 17, 2008 at 18:51 JellyBean says LOL
  • November 17, 2008 at 18:52 Willis™ says or they’re emo psychotics! Don’t leave those ones out
  • November 17, 2008 at 18:52 KDFrawg They’re hanging out with oxen…
  • November 17, 2008 at 18:52 Thema you need to meet a few more people, methinks -D but you’re not far off
  • November 17, 2008 at 18:53 Teeg says in SL, the Paul Bunyan guys are probably dressed like Babe, the blue ox.
  • November 17, 2008 at 18:53 AlyshaRenn thinks she should make a manly man in SL just for JellyBean
  • November 17, 2008 at 18:53 JellyBean says lol
  • November 17, 2008 at 18:54 JellyBean says thema show me one guy in SL that can write eloquently, does NOT have a fem av/alt and doesn’t wear chick clothes. -D
  • November 17, 2008 at 18:58 Arbs says I’m surprised you found two -P
  • November 17, 2008 at 18:59 JellyBean says no shit, right!
  • November 17, 2008 at 19:01 HawksRock says there is a real dearth of quality men’s writers out there who don’t turn their blog pink, or spend over 1/2 their time as a female.
  • November 17, 2008 at 19:02 JellyBean says lol
  • November 17, 2008 at 19:08 Bone is not sure whether he should be insulted by this plurk or not.
  • November 17, 2008 at 19:16 JellyBean says let me know what you decide. -P
  • November 17, 2008 at 19:18 Bone will do.
  • November 17, 2008 at 19:22 Baron has only appeared as a woman when SL has ruthed him.
  • November 17, 2008 at 19:23 JellyBean says really Baron? Do you have a female alt? You might be added to my list of 2 -)
  • November 17, 2008 at 19:25 Baron No female alt.
  • November 17, 2008 at 19:26 Baron tries to find decent tasteful masculine clothes, too . . . but that’s not always easy ;-)
  • November 17, 2008 at 19:37 Bone thinks the criteria for being “normal”, as defined by this plurk, is far too restricting.
  • November 17, 2008 at 19:39 Baron is boringnormal
  • November 17, 2008 at 20:06 Kavar doesn’t understand what sexuality has to do with A. being normal or B. Writing- gay does not mean flaming drag queen by default
  • November 17, 2008 at 20:06 JellyBean says lol hey I’m open to normal of other people’s specifications so long as there is manly man in there somewhere.
  • November 17, 2008 at 20:14 Willis™ has a manly man in RL who won’t enter SL… maybe hes worried it’ll demacho him! (unsure)
  • November 17, 2008 at 20:22 Bone There’s not exactly a whole lot macho things to do in SL.
  • November 17, 2008 at 20:23 Bone Except for maybe shooting shit and driving vehicles. Both are done better in other online games.
  • November 17, 2008 at 20:25 JellyBean says Kavar sexuality has a lot to do with it and gayness does not. Say I’m looking for a guy to write like a guy not a chick, then chances are..
  • November 17, 2008 at 20:26 JellyBean says I will need a guy not a chick, right? testosterone and estrogen ARE two diff things
  • November 17, 2008 at 20:34 Chestnut the thing is everyone has a bit of both estrogen and testoterone. So your manly guy has estrogen too. Just sayin
  • November 17, 2008 at 20:37 JellyBean says lol ty Chestnut. Okay so more specific, you can have estrogen but I’d prefer you have considerably more testoterone. -D
  • November 17, 2008 at 20:53 Kavar had I been talking about sex male/female. I would have said sex… I said sexuality referring to being gay, and only because
  • November 17, 2008 at 20:54 Kavar it was reading like a lame sterotype
  • November 17, 2008 at 21:18 JellyBean says Kavar Ah ok, well I appreciate you coming all the way over here to clarify that -) ty
  • November 17, 2008 at 21:21 Rosie attempts to pull everyone’s panties out of a wad…
  • November 17, 2008 at 21:21 JellyBean says hah
  • November 17, 2008 at 21:21 Rosie says where did Jelly say that gay wasn’t normal? Cuz I don’t see it?
  • November 17, 2008 at 21:22 Rosie says what I saw is her saying that she’d like to find a male (guy) man who had a manly male macho perspective…
  • November 17, 2008 at 21:23 Rosie says to blog. As for sexuality… I do believe you, Kavar, brought up sexuality and when Jelly responded to you, she was not talkin about…
  • November 17, 2008 at 21:23 Rosie boinkin, but was using the word in the same manner you were
  • November 17, 2008 at 21:25 KDFrawg What the hell do you want with a “normal” guy, anyway?
  • November 17, 2008 at 21:25 Kavar lol ok.. mayb we aren’t reading the same plurk.. I see jelly say there are two normal guys in sl, KDFrawg says there must be more then that
  • November 17, 2008 at 21:26 Kavar then the responce is .. no KDFrawg. Either they play fem avatars, they’re gay or very uhh metro sexual. Where are the Paul Bunyan manly men?
  • November 17, 2008 at 21:26 Kavar what exactly was that ment to mean?
  • November 17, 2008 at 21:26 JellyBean says lol KDFrawg. “Normal” seems to be a minority word here
  • November 17, 2008 at 21:26 Rosie says lol yea I’m reading it too, but it’s born of sheer frustration… what she should have perhaps said is not that she wants a “normal”
  • November 17, 2008 at 21:26 Rosie says “guy” but a “stereotypical” macho man
  • November 17, 2008 at 21:27 Rosie but then that would mean that she defines Hawks and Alex as macho… and uhhh no. Sorry.
  • November 17, 2008 at 21:29 Bone So the list has gotten smaller!
  • November 17, 2008 at 21:30 Rosie says hell forget it I don’t even know what I’m talking about anymore… lemme just say that we are looking for different perspectives…
  • November 17, 2008 at 21:30 Rosie blog
  • November 17, 2008 at 21:30 Rosie *on the blog
  • November 17, 2008 at 21:30 Bone I still maintain that macho manly men wouldn’t have enough to do in SL to maintain their interest.
  • November 17, 2008 at 21:31 Rosie says well there are chicks
  • November 17, 2008 at 21:31 Rosie what was it in that other plurk?… Think like a guy…. do I have sex with it, play with it, or eat it?
  • November 17, 2008 at 21:32 KDFrawg JellyBean, go forth and write a post in which you define many man, in both RL and SL.
  • November 17, 2008 at 21:32 KDFrawg Sorry, manly men
  • November 17, 2008 at 21:32 Rosie says ok really I gotta go on that note… cuz that just came out totally wrong
  • November 17, 2008 at 21:32 Rosie says bai!
  • November 17, 2008 at 21:33 Shelly hmm..I’ve met quite a few guys that don’t spend half their time as females, write seriously interesting, wonderful stuff and I’ve never seen
  • November 17, 2008 at 21:33 Shelly them in a latex, fishnets or skirts.
  • November 17, 2008 at 21:39 JellyBean says kdfrawg I think I shall take this plurk and create a spin off t.v. show called the Bold and the Beautiful
  • November 17, 2008 at 21:41 KDFrawg o. you mean simultaneously. -)
  • November 17, 2008 at 21:41 KDFrawg and in tights.
  • November 17, 2008 at 21:42 Siobhan says sounds yummy
  • November 17, 2008 at 21:42 Bone feels discriminated because he wore some dresses (with fishnets too) for comedy’s sake. '-(
  • November 17, 2008 at 21:44 JellyBean says lol boner
  • November 17, 2008 at 21:44 JellyBean says Imma stop there lol
  • November 17, 2008 at 22:21 Daila boner you are manly enough for me : )
  • November 17, 2008 at 22:25 Bone Daila to the rescue!
  • November 17, 2008 at 22:44 Winter wonders if he is now somehow less of a man in all your eyes now because he takes himself “un-seriously” enough to have a pink blog …
  • November 17, 2008 at 22:45 Winter … wear fishnets and be enough of a metrosexual to give a shit about how he looks?
  • November 18, 2008 at 01:47 myg says Jelly, you are teh queen of controversy! Way to go! (tongue)
  • November 18, 2008 at 02:02 JohnnyRyall if I were ther I’d be normal…..oh…wait…never mind….
  • November 18, 2008 at 02:03 JohnnyRyall I was actually wondering cam you get skin that is fat and ugly…..and a stained wife beater…cause if I was there that’s what I’d want….
  • November 18, 2008 at 02:03 JohnnyRyall there’s too many beautiful people there…it needs some balancing
  • November 18, 2008 at 03:16 Kenzie =o.O= wishes to skip over the “normal” men and go for the interesting, un-normal ones (they tend to smell better)
  • November 18, 2008 at 04:34 JellyBean says hah ty myg I aim to please ya know
  • November 18, 2008 at 14:18 Silverdrake adds my 2cents that the supposedly “manly-men” in SL are really women acting out a fantasy of a stereotype.
  • November 18, 2008 at 14:21 Burgess eats drama for breakfast. Mmmm, tastes good.
  • November 18, 2008 at 14:26 Burgess says wow, you really stepped in it here, kiddo.
  • November 18, 2008 at 14:27 JellyBean says lmao did I? I think I made a statement and plurk peeps got panties in a pinch LOL
  • November 18, 2008 at 14:30 Burgess ok, you threw the grenade then -P
  • November 18, 2008 at 18:26 Bone OMG! Now you’re telling us that normal guys don’t wear panties!? I give up!
  • November 18, 2008 at 19:50 JellyBean says lol no boner, please continue to freeball. I was just informed that this plurk thread was viewed as male bashing. (rofl) Sorry, but no
  • November 18, 2008 at 19:50 JellyBean says I was not bashing males, just looking for one with certain non-traits, I guess…
  • November 18, 2008 at 19:51 JellyBean says 1. no fem av/alt
  • November 18, 2008 at 19:51 JellyBean says 2. not metro sexual and 3. is the stereotypical male
  • November 18, 2008 at 19:52 JellyBean says if you were offended, it’s not my issue that you misread, misinterpreted or turned it into something more.
  • November 18, 2008 at 19:53 JellyBean says be happy with who u are, but know that u either do or don’t fit into the category i was looking for. kkthnxbai
  • November 18, 2008 at 20:10 Burgess oh jeez, now you’re explaining and being reasonable. But I have faith that people who want drama will still misinterpret…
  • November 18, 2008 at 20:13 JellyBean says well I love drama too… trust me this plurk has me rolling with tears. I think I’ll start a new one about how it’s ok for “those” …
  • November 18, 2008 at 20:13 JellyBean says to stand up and say HERE I AM but when that’s not what I was asking for they cry and prove my exact point!

So to those that had a cow, got offended, de-friended me, or went to cry on their own thread… I never said DO NOT BE YOU! I said, you are not what I am looking for. I’d hate for someone to tell me I couldn’t have pink hair in SL because I don’t have pink hair in RL. It’s the same fucking thing. How-fucking-ever just as any employer looks for certain skills, or a modeling/acting agency looks for certain appearances, I am looking for a, and heaven forbid I use the word ‘normal’, a regular guy who possesses more gruffness and he doesn’t have to smell nice. Last time I checked SL still hasn’t become scratch-n-sniff.

That is all, thank you.

**Disclaimer and Fine Print**

None of my views represent anyone else’s views, just mine, I thought em up, I let them spew from my brain to my fingertips and I wrote them out here for you to read all by my lil bitty self. If I have pissed you off, then be pissed off at me and no one associated with me as these are my words.


8 Responses to “Who needs a Llama, when you can have a COW!?!”

  1. I googled and learned what “freeballing” is because of this plurk.

    I consider that a win.

  2. ♥JellyBean♥ Says:

    Lmfao! Haha I love to educate, didn’t I tell ya? :p

  3. I suppose I would fall under the “had a cow” and “got offended” by this definition so I suppose I will post.

    *shrugs* I stand by everything I said. I was offended, the gay stuff was the kind of thing bigots say, and if you don’t like being called out for it, don’t say it, or at least don’t say it in front of a hundred people who all come from different walks of life. Also if your going to use stereotypes to classify people for anything, IE level of masculinity.. expect drama, because stereotypes are stupid, especially in this day and age and more so in a world where you can be anything.

    The funny thing is I really enjoy your hard hitting writing so yeah.. I was really kind of pissed off that in your eyes I’m less male for being bisexual. But then thinking someone is less male because they like a color, for instance pink, is equally as stupid to me. People aren’t mad because you wouldn’t hire them.. they are mad because you define people in a way that is offensive, or at least, you imply that in your writing and have yet to correct it, though your friend rosie did take the what is normal back for you so I suppose there is that. And I suppose maybe it was just a way of phrasing things, but you know, when you have to spent most of your life trying to break down those very stereotypes to everyone you know, its a bit annoying when people you admire or enjoy for their writing/designs/skills just toss them around however they chose and then get all sarcastic when asked about it.

    FYI also, being gay or bi doesn’t mean you have an overwhelming level of estrogen. Just thought I would mention it as several of you from the rev seem to feel the need to imply that.

    Also, seeing as this all stems from you hiring on the Rev why is this posted on an old dead blog? I read a great post from you a few weeks back (and I mean that, it was great) about some former mean girl who posted some critisism on another blog of hers and you called her out for it…. just curious.

  4. @Kavar

    Yes excuse me for throwing around the word “stereotypical” as well, while we’re at it let’s throw in the word “bigot” cause that helps, doesn’t it? If you knew me, like really knew me you would know that I have no issues with anyone being whatever or whomever they want ESPECIALLY the gay/bi community. I’d hate to have a Codie moment where I go naming all my charities, great traits and achievements, so I won’t.

    Also, let me clarify AGAIN that *I* was looking for this particular “type”. Though I was not as clear as I had hoped I was… this amounts to *me* as in *I* want someone (a male that plays a male avatar) who blogs male type things – sadly me saying male type things can be considered stereotypical and I know this. If a straight, gay OR bisexual male came up to me and said hey I play a male in SL & know a lot about SL guns, SL weapons, SL cars, sports, gaming, or anything that society as a whole considers MANLY topics, I would say WRITE FOR THE REV. I don’t care if he boinks men or women that does not affect his knowledge and ability to write now, does it?

    My main point which was apparently lost in all this mess was that I want someone who falls mainly & generally into *my* three categories…

    1. MALE in a MALE AV
    2. WRITES ELOQUENTLY
    3. DOES NOT BLOG FASHION

    I can see how my more detailed added commentary can lead you to believe that I was excluding gays, however I never said that AND I am not. Nor did I say that anyone had an overwhelming level of estrogen. Okay I probably have an overwhelming level of estrogen but I’m also premenstrual at the moment so pardon me.

    Yes, this post is in regards to adding male writers to the Rev but it stemmed from the plurk more than the actual search. I put it here because this blog isn’t ‘dead’, it’s sorta hibernating. This blog was born from my/our old Verbal Stew which is where Hawks & I started writing together, that blog is dead but I still use this one for less attention whoring then my others.

    It’s really easy to call someone a bigot or narrow minded from a plurk thread where you only get 140 words max per post to say what you want to say. I could have let it go, could have but felt strongly enough in my own position to tell the full story and delicately placed it here.

  5. I’m trying not to be a dog with a bone here.. but umm… if you had said this in the beginning “If a straight, gay OR bisexual male came up to me and said hey I play a male in SL & know a lot about SL guns, SL weapons, SL cars, sports, gaming, or anything that society as a whole considers MANLY topics, I would say WRITE FOR THE REV. I don’t care if he boinks men or women that does not affect his knowledge and ability to write now, does it?”

    you and I wouldn’t be having this conversation.. because it was exactly my point, which I said in my first plurk response in your thread, which is why I didn’t understand why gay got lumped in with being femme, wearing makeup and all the other non normal/non manly non lumberjack whatever we are calling it now to begin with. How many gay and bi guys did you think were going to say “hey I will write for the rev, I like X(whatever your looking for” after reading gay people rank the same as someone playing a female AV which I’m sorry but that is really the only way to take what you said in the second plurk responce you made.

    If it was a bad choice of words then say so.. but be fair jelly.. there is really only one way to take that, you lumped gay men in with female alts and wearing makeup and then the plurk started chipping away at masculinity for certain colors or wearing certain things. If that is something you say you weren’t looking for fine, I’ll buy that, but using lack of masculinity as a reason was just an explosion waiting to happen. Maybe you didn’t mean to do it but you are really hesitant to take any of it back and frankly I’m not sure what other conclusions people were suppose to come to reading unless there is some instruction manual for deciphering your posts I don’t know about.

    And you are right, I don’t know you in rl, or what you have done for bi/gay rights, I know a tiny pictures with pink hair, and the only other thing I have to figure you out with is the words you write, all the more the reason we have to choose them wisely on the net.

  6. ♥JellyBean♥ Says:

    You say: “If it was a bad choice of words then say so.. but be fair jelly.. there is really only one way to take that, you lumped gay men in with female alts and wearing makeup and then the plurk started chipping away at masculinity for certain colors or wearing certain things.”

    I thought we already determined that I’m chalked full of badly choiced words, if I have ever thought before I spoke/blogged, I’d like someone to notify me cause it’d be historical.

    I don’t believe that I “lumped” gay with anything by using the 3 examples in a sentence that was suppose to just be a statement. I do honestly feel that you have a valid gripe but mayhaps I’m not the most valid punching bag.

    What I really want to say is that I am offended by you being offended, but we know that would AND could easily be mistaken for something more than it is just like this whole sitch has been.

  7. 1. MALE in a MALE AV
    2. WRITES ELOQUENTLY
    3. DOES NOT BLOG FASHION

    Damn you to hell, #2 WRITES ELOQUENTLY !!!

    I was this close to being a stereotypical male!! Argh, my one big chance for an inflated ego… tease.

  8. ♥JellyBean♥ Says:

    Wrath you are such a dork! This is why I wub yew! ♥

Leave a Reply

