16 Things about Hawks

1)  I have travelled to 27 countries to date:  USA, Canada, Mexico, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Nicaragua, Honduras, Dominican Republic, Trinidad & Tobago, Panama, El Salvador, Chile, Peru, Ecuador, Colombia, UK, France, Italy, Spain, Portugal, Greece, Austria, Switzerland, Germany, Belgium, Czech Rep, Hungary.  (If Vatican City counts then 28 )

2)  I am the oldest of 7 siblings, and I am still very close to all of them.   Ironically, I may be closest to the youngest who is 18 years younger.

3)  I am extremely competitive at anything and everything that can be measured.

4)  I have learned the hard way that money does not buy you happiness.

5)  I am drawn to people who have a passion for living and doing no matter how odd their hobby or interests.

6)  I started working at the age of 12 mowing lawns, and have been working ever since.

7) My father put me to work in a beef-packing plant at the age of 18 to “learn the value of my education.”

8)  I wrote a senior thesis on the African-American influx into Kansas following the Civil War – a group that was known as the Exodusters.

9)  I was a history major in college even though I can never remember names or dates, but I really love good stories and the best stories are often real.

10)  I have a habit of getting really excited about something for a while, but once I figure it out I get bored and never do it again.

11)  I would say the adjectives most often attributed to me by others are probably things like stubborn and/or cocky.

12)  I am typically optimistic, and I always try to put a positive spin on things, but at times it is impossible, and those times are very depressing.

13)  I try to laugh and joke and goof around as much as possible, because humor is one of my favorite things.

14)  My toes are double jointed (so I can pick things up quite easily with them) and I had 6 wisdom teeth instead of four, so by many standards I am an evolutionary regression.

15)  My parents moved a lot when I was growing up as my dad was promoted through different positions.   At one point in my life, I was in 6 different schools in 5 years.

16)  I have a downright fetish for ice-cream.   Jell doesn’t seem to understand the compulsive need to go get a chocolate milkshake even though it is below freezing outside.

2 Responses to “16 Things about Hawks”

  1. Wow #10 is me too, I get anal about a thing…then I never do it again!

  2. Evolutionary regression… rotfl! No way, not our Hawks!

Leave a Reply

