Bitch Bitch Moan Moan Whine Whine!

Look I get it – SL is not the most stable virtual world on the world wide web. In all honesty there’s not many that I have played that are (Ultima Online, The Sims Online, Rose, Laguna Beach, THERE, World of Warcraft, Auto Assault, Free Realms, Open Life, etc). The point is that these worlds, IMHO were created for entertainment purposes only. They weren’t created to take place of real life jobs, real life interactions or real life *gasp* lives. They were created to give you enjoyment & a nice little reality break.

However people have found ways to turn what they love to do into a way to make money within the virtual worlds that they play. Well hell – that’s awesome. If I had talent other than spewing my thoughts onto a page for my 5 Free State readers and *I* could make money at it, you better bet I’d be boarding that gravy train in a heartbeat. So I’d like to say Kudos to those that manage to do that on a daily basis. I’m sure it beats my 45 min commute each way & being forced to listen to Kegan sing his little diddys Mon-Fri.

What I have noticed though is a rash of bitchy, moany, whiney comments regarding SecondLife across the blogosphere lately. This is broken, that is broken, I crashed again, LL should get their shit together, yada yada yada blah blah. I know that most people pay for their accounts and you have every right as a paying customer to complain about the service you recieve, but do you ever thank Linden Labs when the service is good? Do you ever say “hey thanks for allowing me to log in to the world you created?” Do you ever think about the life you had before SL? SL has not been around *that* long that you knew nothing before it.

I guess my honest opinion comes from the opposite end of this bitch-fest spectrum. I’m no longer a paid account in SL (I use to be up til 2 years ago) and I feel as a non-membership fee paying resident that I have no right to bitch. The rest of you that are on free accounts should also think about that – LL owes you nothing.

All I’m saying is look, if you don’t like it… leave. No one is holding a gun to your head making you stay and bitch daily about everything that you feel is wrong with SecondLife and/or LL. Here’s a positive spin on things… remember why you’re there in the first place and the things you do actually enjoy there. If you can’t think of anything then mayhaps it’s time to move on.

If by any chance a Linden reads this (which is super slim)… THANK YOU!

6 Responses to “Bitch Bitch Moan Moan Whine Whine!”

  1. Thanks for the post aka REALITY CHECK. I’m guilty of letting out the random rant here and there but I do think we all need to keep things in perspective. As relative old timers in SL, we both have seen SL worse off, no doubt. LL has overall done a pretty nifty job at scaling SL. And yes, it drives me bonkers when people with FREE accounts bitch too. Hopefully this will reach some of the people it needs to.

  2. *yawns* Ooo nice pics! :*

  3. Thanks. Plan on passing the link along.

    I used to enjoy taunting the “Sky is Falling” posts… then it got boring just because there was too much whine in the mix.

  4. I don’t get angry at LL like others do. Its a virtual platform – its not my house haha. I think sometimes people need to step back and, as you suggested, realize this platform IS for entertainment. I only take it seriously if someone hurts my “wittle” feelings. LOL.

  5. Great post. I used to be a ranting and then realized what you just posted. If it weren’t for LL I wouldn’t have an SL to whine about!

    and what Lizzie said….me too.

Leave a Reply

