Over the river and thru the woods, To grandma’s house we go…

So a couple weeks ago I wrote a post about my Mom called On A Serious Note… I didn’t even think to follow up on it and for those that care, I apologize.

During my Mom’s surgery they discovered cancer cells & she was diagnosed with Stage 3c Ovarian Cancer. Ovarian cancer is the eighth most common cancer among American women and the fifth leading cause of cancer death. This year, the American Cancer Society estimates 20,180 women will be diagnosed with the cancer. About 15,310 will die from it.

They have removed my Mom’s ovaries and her omentum (yah I know, I never heard of it before either, google it, it’s fascinating).  She stayed in the hospital a few days and both my sisters are there with her, as well as my Pops. As soon as she heals from this surgery, she’ll need gall bladder surgery. We think they have gotten all the cancer out, but she’ll still need chemo.

This weekend we’ll be driving up there (actually starting tonight) to visit with her & see all my siblings (it’s been 6 years). It’s a long drive with two kids, so if you’d like to donate tylenol, red vines, vodka. Please hollar! kiddin’

5 Responses to “Over the river and thru the woods, To grandma’s house we go…”

  1. Daila Holder Says:

    I’ll miss you guys, and I hope you have a wonderful visit!

  2. Awe sweetness…. I’ve been there. Due to breast cancer.. my mom had to have a double mastectomy. She then had to go through radiation to be sure the cancer was gone. *sigh* But she survived it and is now doing well now though she still has a couple more surgeries still to go.
    ” No One ” should have to go through cancer…and am sooo sorry to hear that your mom has to. I Wish You a great trip and will pray for your guyz’ safety during the trip and your moms overall health. Love You Guyz! ❤ Kala

  3. Alexandra Daikon Says:

    I hope she gets well soon! My thoughts are with you and your family. I hope you have a safe trip, and as good as a time as you can have.

    p.s. try a half of a benedryl…. my mom used to give them to my sister and I during long trips so we’d sleep >.>

  4. Gift Card For free…

    […]Over the river and thru the woods, To grandma’s house we go… «[…]…

  5. lg 47 lcd…

    […]Over the river and thru the woods, To grandma’s house we go… «[…]…

Leave a Reply

